GOPIO felicitates meritorious Indian origin HSC students

At 10:30 am 0 Comment Print

GOPIO  organised ‘GYAAN-2014 Young Achievers Awards Night’ to  praise the meritorious HSC students.  The event was held on February  9, under the president ship of Bhupinder Chibber at Castle Grande, Castle Hill, NSW.

The event was a tremendous success, well received and attended by about 400 people.

GYAAN- Young Achievers Awards Night is a signature event of GOPIO  which is organised every year  to felicitate the high performing HSC students of Indian origin in academic category who attain ATAR 98.00 and above, along with other achievers in non-academic fields like sports, Indian languages, performing arts, visual arts, media, journalism and community service.

The program  started with  traditional lamp lighting  and was mixed together with highly rhythmical Indian classical dances and soulful melodious songs by very talented artists.

Prominent community leader and distinguished guest of GOPIO, Dilip Chopra read the message from the Prime Minister.

Professor Wai Fong Chua- Pro Vice Chancellor (Students) UNSW, a top ranking university of NSW,  was the chief guest on the occasion.

While addressing the gathering, Professor Wai applauded and encouraged the high achievers.

Bhupinder Chibber, President GOPIO Sydney thanked all the performers who made the event  colourful. He also thanked the ‘Executive Committee’ and the volunteers who worked hard for days to make this event a great success.

GOPIO NW 1 (650 x 400)

Young achievers in the academic category included Mathew Jacob 99.95; Prabha Sekhar 99.90; Paurush Tyagi 99.90; Vishal Uppal 99.95; Manroop Bal 99.55; Nivedita Rattan 99.40; Haleen Mohammad Abdul 99.10; Tarunpreet Saluja 99.10; Rizul Makkar 99.00; Daniel Koleth 98.85; Charu Singh 98.80; Shonie Kaushik 98.35; Shakti Srikanth 98.15; Jimmy  Sharma 98.10; Ronic Bedi 98.05; Harsharndeep Singh Kahlon 98.00

The achievers in the non-academic category included Lakhwinder Singh Dhillon- Exceptional Honesty; Meenakashi Srinivasan Promoting Indian Language – Sanskrit; Inderjeet Singh Virdi- Promoting Indian Language Punjabi; Manjit Thind- Photography and Videography; Jai Raman -Community Service (Age care); Aditya Pillai- Oratory and Public Speaking; Angelene Singh- Music (Instrumental) Veena; Priyanka Pri Pri -Music Direction and Singing; Manish Kumar- Music (Vocal) Singing; Ami Surti -Music (Vocal) Singer; Usha Barya- Dance and Choreography; Nishan Gill- Dancing-Bhangra; Kumud Meerani -Media Production TV & Radio; Ana Tiwary- Film Producer; Monty Simmons Sports- Rugby and Vinay Karamil Sports-Triple Jump.

‘ GYAAN-2014, Young Achievers Awards Night’ concluded with a group Bhangra followed by dinner.

Other dignitaries who graced the occasion and joined GOPIO Sydney to honour and bless the achievers included Philip Ruddhock-Member House of Representatives for Berowa,  Greg Smith -SC, Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Member Legislative Assembly for Epping, Michelle Roland- Member House of Representatives for Greenway, John Robertson-Shadow Minister for Western Sydney, Member Legislative Assembly for Blacktown, Dominic Perrottet -Member Legislative Assembly for Castle Hill, Vinod Bahade -Deputy Counsel General Sydney, Government of India, Ms Michelle Byrne Fuentes- Mayor, The Hills Council, Raj Datta- Councillor Strathfield Council,  Gurdip Singh- Councillor Hornsby Council and  Dilip Chopra a prominent community leader and ex Hornsby Councillor.

Community India

Related Posts

Leave a Reply


Photo Gallery

About Us

Public Telegraph is an online news portal with an independent voice and focus on content that is original. Our vision is to serve the journalism community as a source of innovation and to build the next great public media brand in Australia. We have an alternative and fresh perspective from the mainstream press. We provide you insightful analysis of today's important events, revealing what they mean to you and your family. We cover a full range of topics including education, health care, human services, immigration, border issues, transportation, water, the environment, criminal justice, poverty, energy, art and culture, sports, opinion, lifestyle and fashion etc.